Nulla in mundo pax sincera consists of three parts. This painting by André Romijn refers to the 2nd aria created by Antonio Vivaldi.

In stock


Antonio Vivaldi – Nulla in mundo pax sincera – 2nd Aria


‘Nulla in mundo pax sincera’ is a sacred motet (RV630) composed by Antonio Vivaldi in 1735 to an anonymous Latin text. In 18th-century, a motet was defined as a sacred vocal work with a non-litugical Latin verse. The title of this motet can be translated as ‘In this world there is no honest peace’ or ‘There is no true peace in this world without bitterness’. Vivaldi’s motets were intended as show pieces for one of the female musicians of the Figlie di Coro of the Ospedale della Pietà in Venice. This piece was created for a soprano of exceptionally high range (from E above middle C to the B a twelfth higher) and is one of the most interesting of Vivaldi’s early motets for the Pietà.

‘Nulla in mundo pax sincera’ consists of three parts, Aria; Recitative; Aria, followed by a concluding Alleluia. This painting is part of a series of four.

  • Oil on Claessens linen, laid on wood
  • Original artwork by André Romijn
  • Size: 30 x 37.5 cm
  • Size hand-made frame 45 x 52 cm
  • Autograph on front – signed verso
  • Created: 2021


Artist’s description

This painting refers to the second aria of ‘Nulla in mundo pax sincera’. The whole text of this motet reflects in my opinion the world we are living today. But as this motet was written in 1735 and based on an anonymous Latin text, which could even be older, one may ask oneselves whether humankind has made much progress. Food for thought!



Spirat anguis
inter flores et colores
explicando tegit fel.
Sed occulto factus ore
homo demens in amore
saepe lambit quasi mel.


The serpent’s hiss conceals its venom,
as it uncoils itself
among blossoms and beauty.
But with a furtive touch of the lips,
a man maddened by love
will often kiss as if licking honey.


Additional information

Weight 1 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Among blossoms and beauty”